Freelance Writing and Editing Services

Are you looking for a Writer?

I’ve been writing creative fiction from the time I was five years old. Over the years I’ve learned from some great writers, and likewise I’m constantly learning new things about the craft. If you’re looking for someone to write for someone to write speculative fiction perhaps for an anthology or for a magazine I’d be more than happy to submit something.

Additionally, during my years in college at Penn State University I gained a reputation for being a strong and insightful writer in the academic fields as well. My ability to conceptualize abstract concepts and my thought provoking arguments, combined with my creativity and my interest in just about everything, means that I would be a perfect fit to write non-fiction articles on a number of topics. While I’d be happy to writ on any subject, some fields I’m especially well versed in include: Literature, Literary Theory, Literary Criticism, History (All Periods and Topics), Philosophy, Law, Psychology, Social Justice and Education.

Are you looking for an Editor?

In some capacity I’ve been editing just as long as I’ve been writing. I’ve always loved working with other people to make their writing a little bit better. There are few better feelings in this world than someone thanking you for helping them with their work; it’s an experience that I hope everyone gets to enjoy at some point in their lives. In terms of editing works of fiction I’ve been told that I’m honest, constructive, efficient, have a keen eye for detail and offer some great insight.

Meanwhile on the non-fiction side of things I have edited and critiqued a number of peer’s papers during school. More importantly however I have experience as a Staff Editor for three years for Penn State Greater Allegheny’s Literary and Visual Arts Magazine ABSENCE. Furthermore, I was named Editor-in-Chief and helped create an entirely new section for the magazine during my time at the campus. After college I helped edit Carnegie Mellon University’s Mellon College of Science 2014 Annual Review and I also assisted with edits for a handful of student profiles during my time there as well.

Why Hire Me?

First and foremost, I offer a level of versatility in services that many other editors and writers do not. I can write fiction of any genre, non-fiction on any topic (given the time to research), and I can edit work for books, magazines, journals etc. etc. in both fiction and non-fiction.

Secondly, I offer professional quality work for greatly reduced prices. While editors will sometimes ask for as much as .03 cents per word (which means that your short novel of only 180 pages will cost you over $1300 to edit), I on the other will do extensive line edits for a third of the price (that same book now only costs $450 to edit.) These are especially great rates for first time authors and I’m more than happy to negotiate with you on prices. Likewise, I have comparative rates for written original content which equals to about 1/3 of the current market value. Again, I’m willing to work with you on pricing. Rest assured however, there will be no loss in quality since I take great pride in my work and will make every effort to ensure that your work is as good as it could possibly be.

So why am I offering my services for so little? The simple answer is that I’m looking to bring in clients in an attempt to build a freelance editing and writing business from the ground up. This means that networking, taking in new clients and getting my name out there are more important from a business sense than cash right now.

Perhaps the most important reason why you should consider hiring me is that I’m willing to work with you. I have a friendly, easy-going personality and have great communication skills to match. I’ll work with you through every step of the way and will give you updates on my progress often. With me you won’t be left in the dark for 3 months wondering just what I’m doing with your pride and joy.

What are your Rates?

  • Original Written Content (fiction) $.01/Word
  • Original Written Content (non-fiction) $0.03/Word
  • Editing (non-fiction) $.005/Word
  • Substantive Editing (fiction) .01/Word

That Sounds Great! How do I hire you?

Just send me an email at tpitschman@gmail.com tell me a little bit about yourself, what services you were looking for, some general details about the project itself and when you would need to have this project done by.

I will get back to you within 24 hours, and we can discuss the terms of the contract including rates, deadline and services required. Likewise we can hammer out the details of what exactly you’re looking for from me as well. Finally, I’ll provide you with instructions on how to submit your work and some other details as well.

Submit your proposals to tpitschman@gmail.com

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this. I hope you consider choosing me for your next project.

Leave a Reply

